What do we do?

Participants read from their own work, either a poem, short story or extract from a novel or play and then receive feedback from the group.  The emphasis in the workshop is on constructive feedback.  Participants are welcome to attend without reading themselves but you’ll have much more fun if you read yourself. We ask participants to bring copies of the work they plan on reading.

A fee of €5 per person (€3 concessions) is charged to cover costs. The fee for the prose meetings is €6 (€4 concession).

Where do we meet?

7.30 pm to 10.00 pm at Christ Church’s committee room (via back entrance to the church) in the centre of Rathgar Village for the general meeting. Prose meetings are held in the Christ Church community centre’s Highfield rooom, Rathgar Village from 7.30 p.m. to 10 p.m.

For more information please contact James Conway on 086 – 40255 78.

When do we meet?

  • General meetings are held every second Thursday.
  • Prose-only meetings one Monday a month, usually the last Monday of the month.

Latest News

Congratulations to our member, James Conway, who won the Jonathan Swift Poetry prize for 2019 and was third in the Jonathan Swift prose competition. Congrats also to Susan Flynn, who was highly commended and Eithne Cavanagh, who was commended.
In the Francis Ledwidge Poetry competition, James Conway was highly commended and Rachel Stanley was commended.

Here are the dates and times for our prose and general (poetry and prose) workshops in 2020. New and old members, regulars and irregulars – you’re all welcome!

Prose Workshops in 2020

(Monday nights – Fletcher Room – new community centre, building behind Christ Church, Rathgar village)

Monday, 27 January, 7.30 p.m. Monday, 29 June, 7.30 p.m.
Monday, 24 February, 7.30 p.m. Monday, 27 July, 7.30 p.m.
Monday, 30 March 7.30 p.m. Monday, 28 September, 7.30 p.m.
Monday, 27 April, 7.30 p.m. Monday, 19 October, 7.30 p.m. (Please note this is the Monday before the bank holiday Monday)
Monday, 25 May, 7.30 p.m. Monday, 30 November, 7.30 p.m.

General (poetry and prose) Workshops in 2020

(Thursday nights – Committee Room, back of Christ Church, Rathgar village)

Thursday, 23 January, 7.30 p.m. Thursday, 25 June, 7.30 p.m.
Thursday, 06 February, 7.30 p.m. Thursday, 09 July, 7.30 p.m.
Thursday, 20 February, 7.30 p.m. Thursday, 10 September, 7.30 p.m.
Thursday, 05 March, 7.30 p.m. Thursday, 24 September, 7.30 p.m.
Thursday, 19 March, 7.30 p.m. Thursday, 08 October, 7.30 p.m.
Thursday, 09 April, 7.30 p.m. Thursday, 22 October, 7.30 p.m.
Thursday, 23 April, 7.30 p.m. Thursday, 05 November, 7.30 p.m.
Thursday, 07 May, 7.30 p.m. Thursday, 19 November, 7.30 p.m.
Thursday, 21 May, 7.30 p.m.
Thursday, 11 June, 7.30 p.m.

For further details contact: James Conway –  086 4025578

or e-mail: rathmines.ww@gmail.com